The Rainy Season in Cambodia

It hasn’t been too bad, all together.  But now, toward the end, we’ve gotten the tail-end of a local typhoon.  (In the States we have hurricaines; here they have typhoons.  The nature of the difference eludes me.)

I was at the bar I go to (Mary’s) when the typhoon hit.  It just started pouring.  Several of us were hanging out on the balcony.  Mary’s is a guesthouse, so I rented a room for the night.  Later, I found out that the host had made it on the house; or as the girl put it, “free for you.”

It rained so much that the river overflowed.  As of Saturday, this was the view from Mary’s:

viewfrommarys

The sanitation engineering is very basic in Siem Reap, so I don’t really want to think about what this girl is walking through.  The host on the day I took this photo said the previous night he’d pulled a leech from between his toes.

Meanwhile, the big news in my life is that I broke down and brought a big brick of cheddar cheese.  This baby cost me $25 and I’d guess will last me a good couple months.

cheese

Oh, and also I was late to class.  Pretty tame, really.

Published in: on October 5, 2009 at 10:34 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onewetsneaker.wordpress.com/2009/10/05/the-rainy-season-in-cambodia/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You always make me laugh. What an adventure.

    Susan

  2. Yeah, it’s something…


Leave a Reply

